Educational Technology for Teachers
What is new and useful in the classroom!

Telling Tech Tales out of School

I am an innovative teacher. I spend hours of my own time each day working to maximize my student’s opportunities to learn in my classroom. I am aware of and well versed with educational technology and their contributions to 21st century learning skills.

I work at a medium suburban high school in a state recognized for its high student achievement rates. It has been recognized in national news magazines as one of the best. For the most part my students are engaged, motivated and hardworking. My colleagues are some of the best teachers in the state.

What am I lacking? The technological support that I need to give my students the digital education that they need. I confess though, in my high school, I am one of the lucky ones. I have 8 five year old laptops that my students usually get first dibs on. Why my students? I am one of the few that haven’t thrown up her arms in utter frustration and given up on our tech resources completely. In addition, I complain loudly when my students’ learning is hampered by lack of resources.

What do I want? I want my students to have wifi access so they can use their own tech equipment to supplement our few dying machines. I want the password that will “unfreeze” my computer so that I can save bookmarks and install software I need. I want the teachers at my school to influence how our tech department spends their limited funds and human resources. I want to be able to call upon the resources available in the tech department as a respected coworker who shares common goals with our tech support staff.

There is little point in discussing why I can only wish for the above support. It will suffice to say that student achievement is not the foremost goal for all involved.

I have decided to buy a wireless router for my classroom. I will connect it to the network port that supplies my computer with internet services. I will allow my students to enter the 21st century in whatever way I can help them to get there. Frankly, I feel a bit afraid of the trouble I will stir up and wonder what reprimands will come my way. I am sure I will not lose my job, but I will irritate people who exist to support my work. I continue to evoke the ire of our tech department because I will not give up fighting for my students-ever!

I am not proud when it comes to acquiring what is important to supporting my charges’ educations.

One Response to “Telling Tech Tales out of School”

  1. […] to learn in my classroom. I am aware of and well versed with educational technolog…Show original Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

